when you get published

i like to write. i like to read. i want to be an artist in my craft. i want to make the words jump off the page and grab you. i want them to dance in front of you and make you feel. i want to write more than about policy. i want to be dynamic. my first publication is set to come out in the Harvard Journal of Hispanic Policy this spring and i feel a little weird about it. i am happy. but i feel like this puts more pressure on me to hone my craft not just with research writing but with writing about our community in a real way and in sharing culture with the community. my writings are for my sisters, for my lovers, for my friends those that need to be nourished. publications are motivators.

Leave a Reply

